History of the Sugar Hill Inn in the White Mountains
The Sugar Hill Inn started as a small farmhouse built by the Oakes family in 1789. As one of the early settling families in the Sugar Hill area, they are counted among the score of hearty and independent folks who came into the White Mountains of New Hampshire in search of a better life. This traditional New England house was built of post and beam construction and relied on handsome fireplaces in the principal rooms for heat.
In 1924, when a large addition to the original house was added, it began operation as the Caramat Inn. In the 1950’s three two-room cottages were built in a cluster on a knoll just west of the main building. Some of the area’s most breathtaking views can be seen from these guest rooms and porches. In 1972, the Inn was renamed the Sugar Hill Inn.
In May 2006, entrepreneur Steve Allen purchased the inn. The inn was run down but had serious potential. Steve met Karen in 2008 and together they renovated the inn. Along the way they have earned numerous awards for their hospitality.
Owner, Steve Allen, has written a book about his experiences at the Sugar Hill Inn and it is now available from Amazon and Barnes and Noble. This is a fun read for anyone who enjoys staying at Country Inns, Bed and Breakfasts or Boutique Hotels.